The Guild Awards 2016-17

Achievement Award

The Worshipful Livery Company of Wales Achievement Award is presented to a Welsh Person in recognition of outstanding performance that the Company and Principality of Wales can be justly proud.  The Company will announce the recipient in late spring 2017.

Merit Award

The Company’s Merit Award is presented each year a person in mid career who have demonstrated significant achievement and has made a major contribution in his or her chosen profession.   The Merit Award for 2016 was presented to Ms Karen Phillips, Deputy Principal and Deputy Chief Executive of Coleg y Cymoedd, Ystrad Mynach Campus, Mid Glamorgan.  For full report and further information CLICK HERE

Gold Award

The Worshipful Livery Company of Wales Gold Award is intended to provide a substantial award to a young person who has demonstrated a major contribution to the arts, science or technology for the benefit of the people of Wales. The award recognises exceptional personal achievement which must be substantially greater than would normally be expected for someone of their age, position and education.  The Award for the year was presented to Dr Sejal Bhatt,

Sejal was born and raised in Cardiff and attended High School before studying medicine and Neurosciences at undergraduate level, graduating with a first class honours degree.  She is currently studying for a Masters degree in Medical Education.  As part of the 7 year training programme for newly qualified doctors, Sejal is working at the Royal Gwent Hospital as an eye surgeon having previously worked at the Royal Free Hospital and the Gloucester Hospital Trust.    For further information CLICK HERE.

Travel Scholarships

Travel scholarships to the value of £1000 are aimed principally at under-graduate and post graduate students to enable them to further their careers and develop their talents by undertaking a project or further study abroad.  The following awards were made during 2016- 2017.

Engineering, University of South Wales 
Innovation and Leadership, 
Bioscience, Cardiff University 
Journalism, Cardiff University - 
Science, Swansea University- 
Horticulture / Agriculture, Aberystwyth University - 
Health Study, University of South Wales - 
Law Study, Bangor University
Business Study, Cardiff University - 
Music Study, Cardiff University - 
Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, 
Other Awards
Welsh National Youth Orchestra - 
The Prince's Trust Award
Apprentice Awards
Airbus in the UK, Broughton, Clwyd -
Construction, Painting and Decorating, 
Construction NPTC GPC Newtown, 
Millenium Centre, Cardiff Stage Apprentices 
Colleges and Schools Awards
Ysgol -y-Deri, Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan - 
St Johns School, Cardiff
Sir Hugh Owen School, Caernarfon - 
Coleg Gwent -   Foundation Apprentice of the Year - Care Apprentice - Construction Apprentice - Engineering Apprentice - Apprentice of the Year for Mechanical Engineering - Apprentice of the Year for Electrical Engineering - Overcoming Challenges Award -  Outstanding Assessor of the year -    For 
Coleg y Cwmoedd -
Pembrokeshire College, 
Llandrillo College - 
St Joseph's School, Newport - 
Canalfan Gerdd William Mathias - 
Sir Hugh Owen School - 
Aberconwy High School
Military and Disiplined Sevices Awards
HMS Dragon, 
HMS Astute 
RAF Valley  - 
RAF (University of Wales Air Squadron),  
Wales Universities RN Reserve, 
RAF Valley, Anglesey
1 Welsh Guards - 
3rd Royal Welsh - Best Soldier 2017 - 
 South Wales Police - learner of the year
Ad-Hoc Awards
Masters Award 2015-2016
Aubrey Award
North Wales 
Canalfan Gerdd William Mathias - 
Opera Studies (Restricted Award joint with the Sickle Foundation)
Young Farmers Entrepreneurial Award (At Royal Welsh Show)

Contact Details: The Clerk

Dr Claude E Evans C Chem MRSC, 87, Windway Road, Llandaf, Cardiff CF5 1AH, Tel 02920 551482. Dr Evans will be assisted by Mrs Angela Parry, Assistant Clerk