The Guild Awards 2015-16

The Worshipful Livery Company of Wales Achievement Award is presented to a Welsh Person in recognition of outstanding performance that the Company and Principality of Wales can be justly proud.  The award for 2015-2016 was presented to Sir Karl Jenkins CBE Kt by the Master Dr Sarah Cockbill at the Awards Ceremony held at Cardiff Metropolitan University on 2 July 2016. For Sir Karl's biography Click Here

The Worshipful Livery Company of Wales Gold Award is intended to provide a substantial award to a young person who has demonstrated a major contribution to the arts, science or technology for the benefit of the people of Wales. The award recognises exceptional personal achievement which must be substantially greater than would normally be expected for someone of their age, position and education.  The award will be announced in July 2016

Travel scholarships to the value of £1000 are aimed principally at under-graduate and post graduate students to enable them to further their careers and develop their talents by undertaking a project or further study abroad.  The following awards were made during 2015 - 2016.

Travel Scholarships
Engineering, University of South Wales James Walton, Study of Event Lighting, Texas: Chaniece Truelove, Study of Aerospace Engineering,Connecticut  USA 
Innovation and Leadership, Cardiff Metropolitan University, James Whelan, Study of Prefabricated housing and Battery Storage
Bioscience, Cardiff University Kate Shipley, Study of Batten Disease, Boston USA: Emily Kirkham, Study of Protein Fragment, Cork  
Journalism, Cardiff University - Jacob Dafydd Ellis - Investigation of suicide rates amongst journalists, USA 
Science, Swansea University- Jonathon Jones, Attendance at International Ceramic Conference Toronto and visit Rolls Royce Indianapolis USA
Horticulture / Agriculture, Aberystwyth University - Sam Thomas, Study of Adentive Plants, Botanic Gardens, Northern Eurrope.
Health Study, University of South Wales -Kate Jones, Study of high rate of Ceasarian Section births, South Africa
Law Study, Bangor University
Trinity St David's University - Brioni Curtis, StudyActing with Psychology, University of North Carolina, USA
Business Study, Cardiff University - Mr Ignacio Fuetas Ramos
Music Study, Cardiff University - Anselm McDonnell, study of Guitar and Conducting
Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama, Dafydd Gape, Angharad Davies, Poppy Hargreaves, Georgina Illingworth

Opera Studies, North Wales Committee, Katherine Browning  (Restricted Award, joint with the Sickle Foundation)

Other Awards
Welsh National Youth Orchestra - Ms Alys Betsan Jones, French Horn
South Wales Police Learner of the Year Award
The Prince's Trust Award
Apprentice Awards
Airbus in the UK, Broughton, Clwyd - Mr Elfyn Davies, Mr Adam Davies, Mr Rhys Vincent.  For full report, Click Here
Construction, Painting and Decorating, Neath College, Miss Amelia Price

Construction NPTC GPC Newtown Lewys Ferguson, Craig Smilley

Millenium Centre, Cardiff Stage Apprentices Annabel Bond, Lewys Herbert
Colleges and Schools Awards

Ysgol -y-Deri, Penarth, Vale of Glamorgan - Mr Billy Laing - For further details Click Here  Dyfrig Henson (for Maths)

St Johns School, Cardiff
Sir Hugh Owen School, Caernarfon - Mia Williams, Adam Hughes, Angharad Jones.
Coleg Gwent - Daniel Harding - Outstanding Achievement;  Foundation Apprentice of the Year - Jordan Young; Care Apprentice - Hayley Watkins; Construction Apprentice - Ieaun Higgs: Engineering Apprentice - Matthew James Davies: Apprentice of the Year for Mechanical Engineering - Gareth Stone; Apprentice of the Year for Electrical Engineering - Mathan Mark Ives: Overcoming Challenges Award - Michael Beese ; Outstanding Assessor of the year - Mark Van Ek.   For Press release Click Here  
Coleg y Cwmoedd - Kristian Hallett: obtaining 3 A grades and a place at Oxford University.   For full report, Click Here
Pembrokeshire College, Dean Norman - Metal Fabrication
Llandrillo College - Harry Paynter-Roberts - Food Technology, Work Placement with Michelin Starred Chef, Tom Kerridge in the Hand and Flowers  Restaurant, Marlow, Bucks  -For full report Click Here
St Joseph's School, Newport - Jack Roche - For report and photograph, Click Here
Canalfan Gerdd William Mathias - Hana Abbas
Sir Hugh Owen School - Mia Williams, Adam Hughes, Angharad Jones 
Aberconwy High School
Military Awards
HMS Dragon, Ldg Tech (WE) David Peters,  Ldg Tech (ME) Christophe Murdoch
HMS Astute Ldg Steward Christopher David Peters, WO Robert Graham
RAF Valley  - WO Kevin Beattie 
RAF (University of Wales Air Squadron),  Acting Pilot Officer N E Betts
Wales Universities RN Reserve, Charlotte Myrans, Alastair Newton
RAF Valley, Anglesey
1 Welsh Guards - The Boxing Team (11 Members), Captain I M Butler, SSgt Rogers, CSgt Derren, Sgt Evans, LSgt Lucas, LCpl Moriarty, LCpl Ryan, Gdsm Dennis, Gdsm Durken, Gdsm Harty, Gdsm Thomas.   For full report Click Here

3rd Royal Welsh - Best Soldier 2016 - Fusilier Craig Ashment

Dragoon Guards
Ad-Hoc Awards

Ms Katie Haywood - Visit to Ceramic Research Centre, Denmark

Ms Menna Jones - Visit to Patagonia
Mr John Williams - Bench Joinery Apprentice, Purchase of specialist tools
Ms Katie Taunton - Flutist - Specialist tuition
Ms Georgina Hughes - Flutist. Specialist Course with National Youth Orchestra of Wales
Mr David Murphy - Study of International Relations, Kosovo
Ms Chloe Wilson - Study at American Academy of Dramatic Art, New York, USA
Mr Sacheus Holloway Jones - National Youth Brass Band of Wales
Masters Award 2015-2016

Riding for the Disabled

Aubrey Award
Brillian Tutoring Scheme +F49t
North Wales 
Sickle Music Award 2014/15 - Ms Katherine Downing
Sickle Music Award 2015/16 - Ms Glain Dafydd, Study of the Harp. For full report Click Here 
Canalfan Gerdd William Mathias - Hana Abas, Study of the Flute. For full report Click Here
Young Farmers Entrepreneurial Award (At Royal Welsh Show)

Mr Carwyn Huw Jones - Project for the marketing of raw fresh milk, Llanarth, New Quay, Cards.   For full report Click Here  To read the published article click here


Contact Details: The Clerk

Dr Claude E Evans C Chem MRSC, 87, Windway Road, Llandaf, Cardiff CF5 1AH, Tel 02920 551482. Dr Evans will be assisted by Mrs Angela Parry, Assistant Clerk

Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account